Book Cover

The Little French Guesthouse: The perfect feel good summer read (La Cour des Roses Book 1)

by Helen Pollard  

Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it?
When thirty-one-year-old Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife.

Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery.

Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory.

Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it?

Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.

Praise for The Little French Guesthouse:
‘Like sunshine on a cloudy day this is a book to warm your heart. I loved it.’ Shellyback Books

‘I loved every single page of this book and didn’t want the story to end. It had me hooked from start to finish, had me giggling on the bus (rather embarrassing). It is one of those warm, cosy books that needs coffee and croissants.’ The Reading Shed

‘Utterly delicious, I loved escaping into this delightful French community … definitely a feel good book that had me with a smile on my face and laughing out loud … You’ve just got to love Rupert … With the sexy gardener providing a great distraction from Nathan’s desertion, new friends and new possibilities this is a real page turner that I thoroughly enjoyed … a truly wonderfully crafted novel that I highly recommend for its amazing characters, plot and storytelling that make it a brilliant story to escape into. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to be available, I definitely want to read it, please!’ Splashes into Books

‘From the very beginning to the very end, I absolutely adored this book … If I ever found myself in a jam I would want a Rupert in my life for sure (even with his persistence and tendency to butt-in)! The emotional journey that ended up being The Little French Guesthouse is sometimes sad, sometimes infuriating and sometimes hilarious … and abso-freaking-lutely worthy of a comfy chair, a cozy blanket and a nice cuppa.’ Well Read Pirate Queen

‘Could not put down this fabulous book, peppered with humour and characters you can relate to. A wonderful, laugh out loud summer read. One to share with friends and recommend to strangers.’ Renita D’Silva

‘La Cour des Roses is the name of the guesthouse that is central to the story and with its warmth of character, picturesque gardens and eccentric owner, its a place I would love to spend more time … I am already looking forward to book two .’ Rachel’s Random Reads

‘What a lovely gem of a book … I picked this book up during a particularly intense period at work and it was the perfect book – gentle and warm with some lovely characters and a good bit of eye candy … perfect for a pick-me-up/ summer read where you just want to lose yourself in the story.’ The Met Line Reader

£0.99   £1.99